Sites de plongée@@@

Sites de plongée@@@

@@@La mer Rouge est considérée comme l'une des sept merveilles du monde sous-marin. Elle abrite plus de 1 000 espèces d'invertébrés et plus de 200 espèces de coraux mous et durs. Ces éléments forment la base d'un écosystème marin qui comprend 1 100 espèces de poissons, dont un peu moins de 20 % sont endémiques à la mer Rouge (c'est-à-dire que ces espèces de poissons ne se trouvent qu'ici). Le niveau élevé d'endémisme est l'un des principaux facteurs qui rendent la plongée sous-marine en Égypte si intéressante. En choisissant de plonger dans l’un de nos nombreux spots de plongée, vous aurez l'occasion de rencontrer quantité d’espèces endémiques typiques de ce merveilleux récif corallien, célèbre dans le monde entier.


Generic placeholder image
Épave du Thistlegorm
18-35
Il s'agit probablement de l'épave la plus célèbre du monde et certainement celle qui a attiré le plus de plongeurs. Le SS Thistlegorm était un cargo général de la marine marchande, construit en 1940 par Joseph Thompson & Son à Sunderland, en Angleterre. Il a été coulé le 6 octobre 1941 car il était classé comme "armé". Il possédait effectivement des armes, mais il s’agissait d’armes inefficaces, reliques de la première guerre mondiale. Tous les armements étaient dirigés vers l'arrière car ils étaient destinés à la défense et non à l'attaque. Il ne pouvait pas tirer vers l'avant. Il était propulsé par un moteur à vapeur à triple expansion qui générait 365 chevaux et pouvait atteindre 11 nœuds.
Generic placeholder image
Épave du Giannis D
4-28
Chargé d’une cargaison de bois, il a percuté le coin nord-ouest du récif de Shaab Abu Nuhas à pleine vitesse en avril 1983. Il se trouve à côté du récif corallien.
La totalité de l'épave peut être vue depuis la surface en raison de la bonne visibilité.

Generic placeholder image
Erg Abu Ramada
12 m
Ce petit site, situé sur un groupe de pinacles coralliens au large d'Abu Ramada, offre une diversité et une densité incroyables de coraux et de poissons de récif. Les pinacles sont tapissés de coraux, avec des coraux mous colorés prédominants. On peut y voir des gorgones et une gamme assez large d'espèces troglodytes. Les failles rocheuses et les parois des grottes sont foisonnantes, avec des colonies de dendronephthia et d'autres coraux mous aux couleurs vives.
Generic placeholder image
Gota Abu Ramada
15 m
La plupart des opérateurs et des guides de plongée considèrent que Gota Abu Ramada se plonge soit à l'est, soit à l'ouest, mais si vous faites pivoter la carte et observez le récif depuis le nord, vous constaterez que l'une des meilleures options est de plonger du côté nord. Ce récif est un spot fantastique pour une plongée dérivante. D'abord, il conviendra de vérifier le courant pour vous assurer que le bateau vous attendra du bon côté. La plongée décrite ici est l’itinéraire qui part vers l’ouest (le plus beau selon moi). Il y a un petit pinacle avec deux pics juste au nord du récif principal. Vous commencez votre plongée en sautant à cet endroit et vous explorez d'abord le pinacle lui-même, puis le replat à l'ouest, avant de vous diriger vers le sud, vers le récif principal. Avec un peu de chance, vous pourrez croiser une raie aigle, une tortue ou même un requin zèbre. Lorsque vous êtes de retour au pied du récif, vous tournez vers l'ouest et vous suivez le mur sur votre gauche. En chemin, vous verrez que la topographie change, passant d'un jardin de corail en pente à un mur abrupt et à des canyons de sable. À l'extrémité ouest du récif, vous vérifiez votre NDL et votre consommation de gaz pour décider si vous devez contourner les pinacles ou suivre le récif supérieur. L'arrêt de sécurité est effectué à la dernière minute, en nageant à côté du récif.
Generic placeholder image
SHAAB EL ERG (MAISON DES DAUPHINS)
18 m
Le titre pourrait rendre sceptique. En général, lorsqu’on vous dit "ici vous pouvez plonger avec les dauphins", vous n’en croisez pas un seul. C'est comme voir des requins à "Shark Point" ou des tortues à "Turtle Cove" : cela n'arrive jamais. Eh bien, à la Maison des dauphins, il y a une bonne chance que cela se produise. Et si jamais les dauphins ne sont pas là le jour où vous venez, vous pouvez vous consoler en suivant ce sublime itinéraire de remplacement. Avec le bateau sur le côté est du récif, vous nagez vers le sud, jusqu'au bout. Vous continuez dans la même direction en ligne droite, passant d'abord un pinacle à 10 mètres puis deux autres à 12 mètres. De là, vous pouvez voir les deux suivants l'un à côté de l'autre à 15 mètres, et ensuite deux autres alignés à 18 mètres. Cette zone est absolument fantastique. Les carangues chassent dans les bancs de poissons argentés et des nuages d'anthias entourent les coraux mous d'un violet profond. Quelques mètres plus loin, vous trouvez le bord du replat et vous tournez à droite. Ne restez pas sur le bord actuel. Dirigez-vous vers le nord-ouest au-dessus du jardin de corail et regardez sous les acropores pour découvrir la vie marine qui s'y abrite. A l'extrémité ouest du récif, vous trouvez un grand corail cerveau à 9 mètres. Ici vous prenez la décision d'aller soit sur le côté nord à travers le canal, soit sur le côté sud. Si vous choisissez le côté sud, vous nagez avec le récif sur votre gauche jusqu'à un grand pinacle.
Generic placeholder image
Turtle Bay
6 - 13
Il s'agit d'un site de plongée peu connu situé à la pointe nord de l'île de Grand Giftun. Il s'agit d'un petit récif en fer à cheval avec un passage peu profond vers un récif en forme de boyau foisonnant de poissons et de coraux.
Generic placeholder image
Marsa Abu Galawa
4 - 12
Un énorme récif avec beaucoup de vie. Grande chance de voir des hippocampes dans les herbiers marins.
Generic placeholder image
Épave du Salem Express
12m – 30m
Notre excursion à la journée à "Salem Express" s’adresse aux plongeurs expérimentés.
Le Salem Express est assez peu profond. L'épave culmine à 12m et le fond marin est à 30m de profondeur. C'est une énorme épave et vous aurez besoin d'au moins deux plongées pour l'explorer entièrement.
Le Salem Express était un navire civil qui a coulé en mer Rouge. Il s'agissait d'un ferry de voitures et de passagers qui faisait la liaison entre les ports de Safaga et de Jeddah. Il a coulé peu après minuit le 17 décembre 1991, en heurtant le récif Hyndman.
L’épave est située à environ 60 km au sud d'Hurghada.
Niveau : Avancé
Generic placeholder image
Abu Ramada - Nord
35 m
À l'extrémité nord de l'île d'Abu Ramada, un plateau s'étend de 22 mètres de profondeur à l’extrémité nord du récif à 35 mètres de profondeur. Comme le courant vient généralement du nord avec des eaux chargées en nourriture, la vie marine est extrêmement riche sur ce plateau. Le courant peut cependant être un peu capricieux et parfois il vient du sud ou du sud-est, ce qui rend la plongée difficile. Ce site devrait être dérivé, mais comme le courant peut jouer contre vous, faites une vérification avant de prendre votre décision. Sinon, allez jusqu’ à mi-chemin, jusqu'à l'extrémité du plateau, afin d'évaluer le courant lors de la première partie plongée. Vous pourrez ensuite choisir de faire demi-tour ou de vous diriger vers l'extrémité nord en fonction des conditions. Dans tous les cas, vous devez suivre le bord de la paroi. De gros poissons comme le requin à pointe blanche, le requin gris et même le requin à pointe argentée ont été vus ici. Les tortues nagent souvent le long de la paroi et le mur est couvert de gorgones et de corail mou.
Generic placeholder image
Abu Ramada - Sud
20 m -22 m
Comme son nom l'indique, il s'agit de l'extrémité sud de l'île d'Abu Ramada. Près du récif, vous avez un plateau à 12 mètres. Ce plateau descend vers une zone plus profonde en forme de marche qui se termine à 20-22 mètres. Lorsque vous commencez votre plongée, le meilleur plan est de vous diriger vers les pinacles qui sont "suspendus" sur le bord du plateau. L'un des pinacles a une fissure dans laquelle vous pouvez parfois trouver une murène géante cherchant refuge. Nagez à nouveau au-dessus du plateau et jetez un coup d’œil autour des pinacles de forme bizarre au sud-ouest du point le plus au sud du récif. Ici, vous trouvez parfois un grand napoléon qui traîne dans les parages. Continuez vers le nord et sur le bord du plateau, vous verrez maintenant une colline de corail. Quelques coups de palmes plus au nord, vous arrivez à un repaire d'anguilles. Vous passerez un petit pinacle et nagerez autour du coin où vous pourrez jeter un coup d’œil dans une petite caverne à 6 mètres. En plus de cela, vous trouvez l'épave d'un vieux bateau de plaisance à 5 mètres avec beaucoup de poissons-trompettes autour.
Generic placeholder image
Banana Reef
20 m
Pour les amateurs de sites photogéniques près d'Hurghada, avec des raies à queue de plume et des tortues qui passent très régulièrement. Vous y verrez des poissons-clowns par centaines. Dans les environs de Big Giftun, près de Ben el Gebel, ce récif abrité, en forme de croissant, convient à tous les niveaux. Il faut environ 90 minutes de navigation pour atteindre Banana Reef. Vous mouillerez sur le côté sud du récif principal. Le croissant est entouré d'un jardin de corail fascinant et d’ergs sous-marins vraiment magnifiques. Banana, bien sûr, fait référence à la forme inhabituelle du récif. Le courant est fort dans cette zone, affectant la visibilité, même en eau peu profonde. En fait, la dérive est la façon la plus naturelle de plonger à cet endroit. Bien que la paroi du récif ne soit pas particulièrement la partie la plus intéressante de Banana Reef, c’est un bon point de repère pour plonger sans risque.
Generic placeholder image
Shaab Abu Nugar
12 m
Ici nous avons un autre Gota : "Un morceau de récif non loin de..." Comme dans de nombreux systèmes de récifs, il y a pas mal de Gotas autour d'Abu Nagar. De nombreux centres de plongée ont leur propre Gota ici. Il y a deux profondeurs sur ce récif ; les côtés nord, ouest et sud sont moins profonds que le côté est qui descend quelques mètres plus bas. Dans le prolongement du côté est, un petit tombant sépare les deux niveaux. Lorsque vous commencez votre plongée, vous serez sur la partie peu profonde du côté sud, mais après quelques minutes, vous passerez un petit bloc de corail à 9 mètres et ensuite vous nagerez sur le côté est, plus profond, à 12 mètres. Le mur est la partie qui présente le plus d’intérêt. Le fond marin situé plus bas est principalement constitué de sable, alors restez près du récif. Juste avant de tourner vers l'ouest pour remonter la pente jusqu'à 9 mètres, vous verrez un grand corail cerveau et des acropores sur le haut du récif. En allant plus à l'ouest, le fond se transforme en un jardin de corail. Sur le côté ouest, à 8 mètres, le récif fait quelques virages pour former deux baies. Après la deuxième baie, vous pouvez tourner vers l'ouest et admirer trois superbes pinacles avant de suivre le côté sud pour retourner au bateau.
Generic placeholder image
Shaab Sabrina
14 m
Sabina Garden, également connu sous le nom de Sabina Walls ou Shaab Sabina, est une plongée en dérive évidente. Même si vous pouvez facilement nager et revenir au bateau, vous manqueriez la meilleure partie de l’itinéraire. Lorsque vous descendez, vous vous retrouvez au-dessus d'une "colline" de coraux durs plutôt que d'un récif. La profondeur ici est d'environ 12 mètres et descend jusqu'à 14 mètres. On y trouve souvent des poissons-pierre et des poissons-scorpion. Nagez le long de la pente et entrez dans une zone de sable avec quelques grands acropores au milieu. Ici, il n'est pas rare de voir des raies aigles, des raies à queue de plume et des raies pastenagues à taches bleues. De l'autre côté de ce banc de sable, vous entrez dans un labyrinthe de pinacles et de petits récifs. Pour pouvoir naviguer ici, il est bon de noter la position du soleil et le courant, qui vient la plupart du temps du nord et tourne à l'est lorsqu'il touche le récif. Au sud du "labyrinthe", à portée de vue, le récif principal vous emmène à l'est vers le bateau avec une variété spectaculaire de différents coraux durs vivant les uns sur les autres, faisant de l'arrêt de sécurité un véritable plaisir. Lorsque vous tournez dans le coin au bout du récif, tout passe soudainement de la couleur au noir et blanc. À cet endroit, vous voyez un petit bloc de corail à quelques mètres du récif où se repose souvent un poisson-pierre.
Generic placeholder image
Umm Gamar
29 m
Umm Gamar signifie « Mère de la Lune ». Certains disent que c'est la forme de l'île qui lui a donné son nom. D'autres disent que c'est à cause de sa couleur. D'autres encore disent qu’elle est réellement la mère de la lune. Un récif, deux fois plus long que l'île, s'étend vers le nord. Vous pouvez plonger dans plusieurs endroits différents autour d'Umm Gamar mais il n'y a de lieu de mouillage que sur le côté sud. La plupart des centres de plongée suivent le même itinéraire. Depuis le mouillage, il faut lutter contre le courant jusqu'à la grotte à une profondeur de 29 mètres, remonter jusqu'aux pinacles, puis essayer de ramener les plongeurs au bateau avant qu'ils ne manquent d'air... Mon opinion personnelle, c’est que ce plan de plongée est la pire de toutes les options. Tout d'abord, la grotte n'est rien d'autre qu'un trou noir sans issue et sans intérêt. Deuxièmement, ce site n'est pas intéressant à une profondeur de 30 mètres. Ma suggestion est de dériver à partir du nord et de profiter de toute la plongée en profondeur, autour de 18-20 mètres. Le haut du récif est magnifique et les pinacles avec les fissures et les tunnels sont sublimes. La grotte profonde, en revanche ne vaut pas l'air que vous allez y dépenser. Évitez-la. À la fin de la plongée, vous rencontrerez peut-être les gros plectorhinchus argentés qui vivent sur le plateau. Les murènes et les tortues nageant librement sont courantes et, si vous êtes chanceux, vous pourrez rencontrer un requin à pointe blanche.
Generic placeholder image
Petite dérive de Giftun
55 m
Sur ce mur, vous trouverez un tunnel spectaculaire. C'est une plongée fantastique pour tous ceux qui aiment les coraux mous et les gorgones. Le mur en est entièrement recouvert et le mélange de couleurs et de formes ondulant dans le courant lui donne un aspect magique. Il est recommandé de faire une plongée dérivante et de suivre le courant qui vient généralement du nord. Vous verrez apparaître un replat sur le mur, de plus en plus large, jusqu'à ce que le haut du récif tourne vers l'ouest et que le replat commence. Vous savez maintenant que le bateau est tout droit sur votre droite et que vous devrez peut-être nager contre un léger courant pour y arriver. Gardez cela à l'esprit pour décider du moment où vous ferez demi-tour. Quelques minutes plus tard, vous trouvez une petite "péninsule" à 27 mètres. C'est là que l’on peut trouver l’entrée du tunnel, environ 15 mètres plus bas. La loi égyptienne stipule que la profondeur maximale pour la plongée récréative est de 40 mètres, sans formation ni entraînement spécial pour des plongées plus profondes. Le plafond du tunnel est à 43 mètres et le plancher à 55 mètres. Cela signifie que pour la plupart des plongeurs, le tunnel n’est pas accessible.
Generic placeholder image
Shaab Umm Gamar
30 m
C'est un site de plongée avec un mur sur le côté est et un plateau sur le côté sud. Le plateau est en pente, d'une profondeur de 15 mètres près du récif, jusqu'à une chute d'environ 30 mètres. La plupart des centres de plongée font cette plongée à partir du mouillage, mais le meilleur choix est de dériver du nord au sud. Comme vous êtes sur le côté est, il est préférable de faire cette plongée le matin. Lorsque vous sautez, vous vous trouvez à côté d'un grand mur. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'aller en profondeur pour observer la vie marine, mais il y a un requin gris qui patrouille ici à 25-30 mètres. Les fissures, les petites grottes et les surplombs renferment des espèces intéressantes et vous voyez souvent des murènes et des mérous le long du chemin. Après un moment, un étroit replat apparaît, qui s'élargit ensuite en un véritable plateau. Le récif tourne alors à droite et vous vous trouvez à l'extrémité sud du récif. Sur le bord du plateau, à environ 30 mètres, vous pouvez voir les restes d'une petite épave. Des morceaux sont éparpillés sur le plateau jusqu'à l'endroit où vous trouverez l'entonnoir, à 13 mètres. C'est dans cette zone que vous verrez le requin la plupart du temps, mais de temps en temps, vous pouvez même le rencontrer sur le plateau, juste sous les bateaux. Lorsque vous avez dépassé l'épave, il est temps de remonter vers le palier de sécurité. À cette profondeur, il y a quelques tunnels étroits dans le coin du récif.
 How may I help you?
up

Activity Booking

Book Now

Dive Sites

The Red Sea takes its name from the periodic algal blooms that occur here painting the sea with a reddish hue, and not the red-tinted Egyptian mountain ranges that surround it. It’s a diver’s paradise, with the warmest of warm seas, very little wave action and unsurpassed visibility.

The Red Sea is considered to be one of the 7 Wonders of the underwater world, harboring more than 1,000 species of invertebrates and over 200 species of soft and hard coral. This forms the basis of a marine eco-system which includes 1,100 species of fish, of which just under 20% are endemic to the Red Sea, i.e. these fish species can only be found here. The high level of endemism here is one of the main factors that makes Egypt scuba diving so interesting.


Generic placeholder image
Dive Base Academy Center
Generic placeholder image
SS Thistlegorm
Depth: 18-35
This is possibly the most famous shipwreck in the world and certainly the most dived. The SS Thistlegorm was a general cargo Merchant Navy ship built in 1940 by Joseph Thompson & Son in Sunderland, England. She was sunk on 6 October 1941 and was classed as “Armed”, however, although she was armed as such, the armaments were just what we’re lying around and mostly ineffective left over from the first world war. All of the armaments pointed to the rear as they were for defense not attack. She couldn’t fire forwards. She was powered by a triple-expansion steam engine which generated 365 horse power and was capable of 11 knots.
Generic placeholder image
Giannis D
Depth: 4-28
Hit the northwest corner of Shaab Abu Nuhas at full speed with its cargo of timber in April 1983 and lies next the coral reef.
The entire wreck can be seen from the surface because of the good visibility.
Generic placeholder image
Erg Abu Ramada
Depth: 12 m
This small site, on a group of coral pinnacles just offshore from Abu Ramada, is an incredibly dense collection of the best in coral growth and reef fishes. The pinnacles are carpeted in rich layers of coral, with colorful soft corals predominating, along with some gorgonians and a fairly wide range of stony species. The openings and walls of the caves are often particularly vibrant, with colonies of dendronephthia and other vividly colored soft corals.

This can be a challenging dive for which you need to be at least an Advanced Open Water Diver. Drop down the wall to a small plateau at 22metres before the sea drop away to the abyss.
Generic placeholder image
Gota Abu Rmada
Depth: 15 m
Most dive operators and dive guides think of Gota Abu Ramada as either the east or the west side but if you swing the map around and watch the reef from the north you find that one of the best options is to dive the north side. As a drift dive, this reef is a fantastic experience. First, you check the current to make sure the boat will wait for you on the right side. I prefer to go to the west so this is the dive I describe here. There is a small pinnacle with two peaks just to the north of the main reef. You start your dive by jumping in at this spot and explore, first the pinnacle itself and then the flat area into the west before heading south towards the main reef. With a bit of luck, you might bump into an eagle ray, a turtle or even a zebra shark along the way. When you’re back at the foot of the reef you turn west and put the wall on the left shoulder. Along the way, you will find the side of the reef change in shape from a sloping coral garden to the steep wall to sandy canyons. At the west end of the reef, you check your NDL and gas consumption to decide whether to swim around the pinnacles or to follow the top reef. The safety stop is done as the last minute swimming next to the reef.
Generic placeholder image
SHAAB EL ERG (DOLPHIN HOUSE)
Depth: 18 m
This is one of those dive sites you read about and go “Oh yeah, right!” There is not a place in the world where they say, “here you can dive with dolphins” and you do. It is like seeing sharks at “Shark Point” or turtles in “Turtle Cove”, it never happens. Well, at Dolphin House there is a fair chance for it to happen. If the dolphins are not around on the day you come here, you may follow this route instead. With the boat on the east side of the reef, you swim south to the end. You go on in the same direction in a straight line, first passing one pinnacle on 10 meters then two more at 12 meters. From here you can see the next two beside each other at 15 meters and then two lined up on 18 meters. This area is absolutely fantastic with jacks feeding on schools of silversides and clouds of anthias surrounding deep purple soft corals. A few meters further out you find the edge of the plateau and turn right. Do not stay at the actual edge; make your way north-west over the coral garden and look under the table corals for marine life seeking shelter there. At the west end of the reef, you find a big brain coral at 9 meters and here you make the decision to go either on the north side through the channel or on the south side. If you choose the south side you swim with the reef on your left shoulder up to a big pinnacle.
Generic placeholder image
Turtle Bay
Depth: 6 - 13
This is a not so well known dive site off the north tip of Grand Giftun island. It's a small horseshoe reef with a shallow swim through to a bowel reef that is absolutely filled with fish and coral
Generic placeholder image
Marsa Abu Galawa
Depth: 4 - 12
A huge reef with plenty of life. Big chance to see seahorse in the sea grass.
Generic placeholder image
Salem Express
Depth: 12m – 30m
Our full-day trip to „Salem Express“ is, especially for experienced divers.
The Salem Express is quite shallow. The wreck starts at 12m and the seabed is at 30m deep. This is a huge wreck and you will need at least 2 dives to explore it all.
The Salem Express was a passenger ship that sank in the Red Sea. It was a Roll-on/roll-off car and passenger ferry that operated between the ports of Safaga and Jeddah. It sank shortly after midnight on December 17, 1991, when it hit the Hyndman Reef.
It is located around 60 km south of Hurghada.
Difficulty: Advanced
Generic placeholder image
Abu Ramada - North
Depth: 35 m
On the north tip of the Island of Abu Ramada, a plateau stretches out from the depth of 22 meters at the foot of the reef, down to a depth of 35 meters at the north end. As the current generally comes from the north with nutrient water the marine life on this plateau is extremely rich. The current can be a bit tricky here though and sometimes it comes from the south or southeast, which makes the dive difficult. This site should be drifted but since the current can work against you, make a current check before deciding on the final plan or drop halfway to the end of the plateau so you can assess the current at the beginning of the dive so you can choose to head back to the boat or towards the north end depending on the conditions. Either way, you should follow the edge of the drop-off. Big fish like whitetip reef shark, grey reef shark, even silvertip shark have been seen here. Turtles often swim along the drop-off and the wall is covered with gorgonians and soft coral.
Generic placeholder image
Abu Ramada - South
Depth: 20 m -22 m
As the name suggests this is the south end of Abu Ramada Island. Close to the reef you have a shelf on 12 meters. This shelf slopes down towards a step-like deeper area that ends on 20-22 meters. When you begin your dive, the best plan is to head out to the pinnacles that are “hanging” on the edge of the shelf. One of the pinnacles has a crack in which you sometimes can find a giant moray eel seeking shelter. Swim-up over the shelf again and have a look around the funny shaped pinnacles southwest of the southernmost point of the reef. Here you sometimes find a big napoleon hanging around. Continue north and on the edge of the shelf, you will now see a coral hill. A few fins kick further north you come up to an eel garden. You will pass a small pinnacle and swim around the corner where you can have a look into a small cavern at 6 meters. On top of those, you find a wreck after an old safari boat on 5 meters with a lot of trumpet fish hanging around.
Generic placeholder image
Banana Reef
Depth: 20 m
For the lovers of photogenic sites near Hurghada, with feather tailed rays and turtles regularly swimming by. Spot the anemonefish in their hundreds. In the vicinity of Big Giftun, and close to Ben el Gebel, this sheltered crescent-shaped reef is suitable for most levels of divers. It’s around 90 minutes of sailing to reach Banana Reef. Here, moorings are located on the south side of the main reef. The crescent formation is enclosed by an attractive coral garden and a pair of truly magnificent ergs. Banana, of course, refers to the reef’s unusual shape. Current can be considered strong in this area, affecting visibility, also in shallow water. Actually, drift is the most natural way to dive into this spot. Although the wall of the reef isn’t particularly the most impressive part of Banana Reef, it serves as a good navigation point by keeping it in visual focus.
Generic placeholder image
Shaab Abu Nugar
Depth: 12 m
Here we have another Gota “A piece of reef not far from…” As in many reef systems, there are quite a few Gotasaround Abu Nagar, so different dive centers may have their own Gota here. There are two different depths around this reef; the north, west and south sides are shallower than the east side that is a few meters deeper. Running as an extension of the east side you find a little drop off dividing the two levels. When you start your dive you will be over the shallow part on the south side, but after a few minutes, you will pass a small coral block on 9m and then swim out over the deeper east side to 12 meters. The reef slope itself is what is interesting here. The seabed further out is mainly sandy bottom so stay close to the reef. Just before you are about to turn west up the slope to 9 meters again, you will see a big brain coral and a few table corals on the top of the reef. As you are going further west the bottom turns into a coral garden. On the west side, on 8 meters, the reef makes a couple of turns to form two bays. After the second bay, you can turn west and have a look at three pinnacles before following the south side back to the boat.
Generic placeholder image
Shaab Sabrina
Depth: 14 m
Sabina Garden, also known as Sabina Walls or Shaab Sabina, is an obvious drift dive. Even though you could easily swim out and back to the boat, this would mean that you miss the best part of the dive. When you drop you find yourself over a "hill" of hard corals rather than a reef. The depth here is around 12 meters sloping down to 14 meters. Often you find stonefish and scorpionfish laying here. Swim down the slope and enter a sand patch with a couple of large table corals in the middle. Here it is not uncommon that you see eagle rays, feather tailed rays, and blue-spotted ribbon tailed rays. On the far side of this sand patch, you enter a maze of pinnacles and small reefs. To be able to navigate here it is good to notice the position of the sun and the current, which most of the time comes from the north, turning east when it hits the reef. South of the "maze" and in the visual distance, the main reef takes you east towards the boat with a spectacular variety of different hard corals living on top of each other, making the safety stop a true pleasure. When you turn around the corner at the end of the reef it all of a sudden turns from color to black and white. At this point, you see a small coral block a few meters from the reef where a stonefish often rests. Now it is only a few minutes to travel to the boat on the south side of the reef.
Generic placeholder image
Umm Gamar
Depth: 29 m
Umm Gamar means Mother of the Moon. Some say that it was the shape of the island that gave it its name, some say it was because of the color and some say that this island is the moon’s mother.A reef, twice the length of the island, reaches out towards the north. You can dive into several different places around Um Gamar but there are only moorings on the south side. Most dive centers follow the same route here. From the mooring around the corner, struggle against the current down to the cave at around 29 meters, up to the pinnacles and then try to get the divers back to the boat before they run out of air. My personal opinion is that this dive plan is the worst of all options. First of all, the cave is nothing but a black dead hole. Second, this site is not interesting for 30 meters. My suggestion is to drift from the north and enjoy this whole dive in-depth, not more than 18-20 meters. The top of the reef is beautiful and the pinnacles with the cracks and tunnels are very pretty, but the deep cave is not worth the air. At the end of the dive, you may run into the big silver sweetlips that are normally hanging around over the plateau. Free swimming moray eels and turtles are common and if you are lucky you may meet a white-tipped reef shark. There are often a lot of boats here, so if you do not know exactly where your boat is it may be a good idea to ascend close to the reef and swim the last bit on the surface.
Generic placeholder image
Small Giftun Drift
Depth: 55 m
A little bit deeper on this wall you find a spectacular tunnel. This is a fantastic dive for anyone who likes soft corals and gorgonians. The wall is covered with both and the mixture of colors and shapes waving in the current gives it a magical impression. It is recommended to make a drift dive here and just follow the current which usually comes from the north. You will see a shelf appearing on the wall, getting wider and wider until the top reef wall is turning to the west and the plateau begins. Now you know that the boat is straight to the right and that you may have to swim against a mild current to get there. Keep this in mind for your decision when to turn around. A couple of minutes later you find a small "peninsula" on 27 meters. This is where the tunnel runs through about 15 meters further down. Now, the law in Egypt says that the maximum depth for recreational diving is 40 meters without special training and education in deeper dives. The tunnel’s ceiling is at 43 meters and the floor at 55 meters. This means that for most divers this is out of reach.
Generic placeholder image
Shaab Umm Gamar
Depth: 30 m
This is a dive site with a wall on the east side and a plateau on the south side. The plateau is sloping from a depth of 15 meters close to the reef, down to a drop of around 30 meters. Most dive centers do this dive from the mooring but a better choice is to drift from north to south. Since you are on the east side, it is best to do this as a morning dive. When you jump you find yourself next to a great wall. It is not necessary to go deep on this dive for the normal marine life, but there is a grey reef shark that is patrolling here on 25-30 meters. Cracks, small caves, and overhangs invite interesting marine life and you often see moray eels and groupers along the way. After a while, a narrow shelf appears which then widens into a plateau. Now the reef turns right and you are at the south end of the reef. On the edge of the plateau, on about 30 meters, you can see the remaining of a small wreck. Pieces of it are scattered across the plateau to where you find the funnel on 13 meters. This is the area where you find the shark most of the time but once in a while, you can even meet him on the plateau under the boats. When you have passed the wreck it is time to ascend to the safety stop. At this depth, there are a few narrow tunnels through the corner of the reef. Keep your eyes open for scorpionfish and stonefish until you see the mooring lines to your left.

Activity Booking

Book Now